Tomorrow…

“As those who enjoy reading will know, books have an extraordinary power to take you out of yourself and into someone else’s mindset, so that, for a while at least, you look at the world through different eyes.” -Ann Morgan, My year reading a book from every country in the world. 

With the power of seeing the world through different eyes, reading diverse texts would be the best way to accomplish this goal. With so many different books to read, the best place to start would be with the country that I live in now so that I can better understand why people immigrate to the United States and once they are here, how do they live. This idea is in response to the 2016 election of Donald Trump and his anti-immigration policies. I would want to get an idea of how so many diverse people exist together in one country all the while the leader of the country does not make an effort to fix our incomplete immigration policy.

A few rules for my plan would be that I would read novels, memoirs, and graphic novels as the book material. The main theme or topic would focus on immigration and the stories that surround people’s story in migrating into the United States.

My Five Point Plan

  1. Finish reading The Hero’s Walk by the end of May
  2. Write a review for The Hero’s Walk on Amazon and Good Reads
  3. Find popular immigration books that represent each of the 50 states
  4. Read one book from each state until I graduate
  5. At the end of each book write a review on Amazon, Good Reads, and my blog

I would want to have a solid foundation of diverse voices in America first to then use those stories as a starting point to find other countries that share a similar story. Here, I would want to connect the United States to the rest of the world so that everyone who reads my work can connect the United States to other diverse countries and those countries to the United States. With this idea, I hope to tear down the idea of an “Us vs Them” mentality, but as a “We are one” idea. My time frame would be to finish the book that I have already started and jump into the creation of a book list that has an immigration story that is placed in each state in America. I would like to keep the list favoring popular reads, but I would also read anything that no one has heard of before. If the search yields an unwieldy list, then I will narrow my focus on environmental undertones as another search term. I would want to finish this by my graduation which is 2 years away this week. After I finished with the United States, I would want to work with a book from every country in my life after undergraduate school.

I will finish The Hero’s Walk this month.

Leave a Reply

